The winners of the Joy Awards 2023 are…

The Saudi capital of Riyadh just hosted the third edition of its biggest entertainment awards event to date.

Presented by the General Entertainment Authority (GEA), and co-hosted by MBC GROUP, the Joy Awards 2023 were broadcast live from the Baker Al-Sheddi Theatre. 

Mel Gibson

Taking place in the presence of His Excellency Turki Al-Sheikh, Chairman of the GEA, the Joy Awards recognises and honours the Arab world’s best artists and their achievements, from cinema, TV, and music, to sporting and digital influence. 

The latest edition of the Joy Awards – which is part of the Saudi Vision 2030 Quality of Life Programme – saw a host of stars grace the lavender carpet at Riyadh Boulevard, with all the latest updates televised live on MBC1, MBC MASR, MBC IRAQ, and MBC5, and via Shahid, the world’s leading Arabic streaming platform.

Amitabh Bachchan

Celebrities in attendance included Mel Gibson, Amitabh Bachchan, the filmmaker Michael Bay, Sofia Vergara, Spanish actress Esther Acebo, as well as Turkish stars Engin Akyurek, Demet Özdemir, and Aras Bulut İynemli.


Presented by Wissam Breidy and Valerie Abou Chacra, the Joy Awards 2023 kicked off with a dance performance themed “Sadiq Waf”, before showcasing a documentary entitled “Beyond Imagination” – the tagline of Riyadh Season. The documentary narrated the GEA’s most prominent events, top achievements, and records made during 2022. 

In addition to the awards presented, the ceremony also featured performances from a host of top names, including Rashed Al-Majed, Ahmed Saad, Rahma Riad, Marwan Khoury, Mohamed Mounir, Nancy Ajram, followed by a joint performance by REMA with Dalia Mubarak, and then Cairokee.

The ceremony also included the screening of a short film entitled, “A Tribute to Those Who Have Gone”, accompanied by music by Pamela Tan Nicholson and the Classical Ladies Orchestra.

Finally, the event concluded with a group photo with HE Al-Sheikh.


What sets this event apart from others in the region is that the winners are voted for by the fans.

Best Film: “Kira w Al-Jin”
Best Actress (Film): Hind Sabri (“Kira w Al-Jin”)
Best Actor (Film): Ahmed Ezz (“Kira w Al-Jin”)

Best TV Series: “Salon Zahra” (Season 2)
Best Actress (TV Series):
Nadine Nassib Njeim (“Salon Zahra – Season 2”)
Best Actor (TV Series): Ibrahim Al Hajjaj (“Minho Waladna”)
Best Newcomer (TV Series): Helda Yassin (“Banat Sanawy”)

Best Song: “Shokran” by Assala Nasri
Best Female Artist: Angham
Best Male Artist: Abdul Majeed Abdullah
Best Newcomer: Jori Kattan

Best Social Media Influencer (Female): Abeer Sagheer
Best Social Media Influencer (Male): Ahmad Al Shugairi

Best Female Sports Personality: Mariam Saleh Bin Laden
Best Male Sports Personality: Achraf Hakimi


HE Al-Sheikh took to the stage to present a number of distinguished honorary awards, with the first one going to Waleed bin Ibrahim Al Ibrahim, Chairman of MBC GROUP, who received the Diamond Entertainment Makers award.

Additional honorary Entertainment Makers awards went to Hollywood actor Mel Gibson, Spanish actress Esther Acebo, and the Arab stars Ahmed Helmy, Mona Zaki, Mohamed Mounir, Rashed Al-Majed, Souad Abdullah, Hayat Al-Fahad, Angham, Nawal El Kuwaitia, and Salem Alhendi.

Two Lifetime Achievement awards were granted to Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan and the international filmmaker Michael Bay.

Sofia Vergara

Finally, Sofia Vergara received the Person of the Year award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *